Career Academy of Beauty Wins “International Business Student of the Year Award”

  • Posted By: Chris Cooper
  • Tags:
  • Comments: 0

1st Place Cosmetology - Kelly Mallery - Career Academy of Beauty

3rd Place Esthetics - Caroline Lemerise - Career Academy of Beauty


Nuts and Bolts Training Program announced the winners of its sixth annual International Business Student of the Year (IBSY) Awards on January 26, 2014 at the International Salon & Spa Expo, held at the Long Beach Convention Center in Long Beach, CA.

For the first time ever, Kelly Mallery from Career Academy of Beauty in Garden Grove, California was awarded 1st place in the cosmetology category for the second year in a row, taking home a prize package totaling over $6,000. Jenna Jones from Evergreen Beauty College in Bellevue, Washington won 1st place for Esthetics and received over $5,000 in prizes. Prizes were donated by sponsors including Mud Make Up Designory, Dermalogica, OPI, Sassoon, Nuts and Bolts, and many more.

“The International Business Student of the Year award is now in its 6th year, and we have been so impressed by the candidates this year,” said President and Founder of Nuts and Bolts Training Company, Jim Yates. “Indeed, the candidates for this year’s first, second and third place awards were all incredible performers and would rival some of the most seasoned veterans in the industry in business acumen. We have no doubt that these students and all of our students have bright futures ahead of them, and we thank each and every one of our Team Leaders and students for their unwavering dedication to the Nuts and Bolts program!”

Every Nuts and Bolts-affiliated school nominates a top performer to be in the running as an IBSY finalist. The judging criteria are based on: retail sales, up servicing percentages, average ticket sales and customer service skills. Students also create a 3-5 minute video showcasing how they are applying their Nuts and Bolts training to their career goals. Overall creativity and professionalism were taken into account when scoring these videos.

The complete list of winners include:

1. Kelly Mallery – Career Academy of Beauty
2. Devery Olson-Irving – Cameo College of Essential Beauty
3. Samantha Sauve – Evergreen Beauty College – Renton

1. Jenna Jones -Evergreen Beauty College – Bellevue
2. Kristina Kushner – Evergreen Beauty College – Everett
3. Caroline Lemerise – Career Academy of Beauty